Planning Commission

The Planning Commission advises the City Council on land use matters such as the General Plan and specific plans, zoning and subdivisions. The Commission plans for the future orderly physical development of the City and informs and educates the public on current land use and urban planning issues. In many areas the Planning Commission also acts as a legislative body in making determinations within the framework of applicable State laws and City ordinances. Ultimate decisions on land use reside with the City Council. Members are required by State law to file an annual statement of economic interests. 

The Planning Commission meets on the 2nd and 4th Wednesday of the Month at 7:00 p.m. in the Civic Theater at 13777 Fruitvale Avenue. The meeting schedule is subject to change. Additionally, the Commission holds study sessions and site visits as needed.

Planning Commission Meeting Videos, including current and past agendas and staff reports

Planning Commission Agendas and Minutes, including current and past agendas and minutes

City Calendar, including Planning Commission Meetings

Mission Statement

To maintain the unique character of Saratoga by ensuring that the physical development of the City is consistent with the environmental, social and economic goals as set forth in the City’s General Plan.

Staff Liaison

Erwin Ordoñez
Community Development Department
Phone: 408.868.1231

Commission Roster

To Send an Email to All Members, Click Here.

 Member  Term Ending  Email
Wendy Chang March 31, 2018 wchang@saratoga.ca.us
Kookie Fitzsimmons March 31, 2018 cfitzsimmons@saratoga.ca.us
Sunil Ahuja March 31, 2019 sahuja@saratoga.ca.us
Joyce Hlava March 31, 2019 jhlava@saratoga.ca.us
Leonard Almalech March 31, 2020 lalmalech@saratoga.ca.us
Razi Mohiuddin March 31, 2021 rmohiuddin@saratoga.ca.us
Tina Walia March 31, 2021 twalia@saratoga.ca.us