City Council Elections

2020 City Council Election

City Council Candidates (organized by randomized alphabet drawing)

CandidateBallot Designation
ContactCandidate StatementCampaign Disclosure Forms
Belal AftabTraffic Commissioner ChairEmail Belal AftabBelal Aftab Candidate Statement (PDF)Belal Aftab Campaign Disclosure Forms
Renee Paquier
Academic Dean/Educator
Email Renee Paquier
Renee Paquier Candidate Statement (PDF)
Renee Paquier Campaign Disclosure Forms
John FitzpatrickPublic Interest AttorneyEmail John FitzpatrickJohn Fitzpatrick Candidate Statement (PDF)John Fitzpatrick Campaign Disclosure Forms
Kookie FitzsimmonsHealth Science SpecialistEmail Kookie FitzsimmonsKookie Fitzsimmons Candidate Statement (PDF)Kookie Fitzsimmons Campaign Disclosure Forms
Doug Case
Retired Business ExecutiveEmail Doug Case
Doug Case Candidate Statement (PDF)
Doug Case Campaign Disclosure Forms
Tina WaliaPlanning CommissionerEmail Tina WaliaTina Walia Candidate Statement (PDF)Tina Walia Campaign Disclosure Forms


  • Election Day is November 3, 2020. This year, Saratoga voters can vote for 2 candidates to be elected to the City Council.
  • Register to vote online, or check if you are already registered. Paper registration forms are also available in multiple languages at Saratoga City Hall (13777 Fruitvale Avenue). Completed forms can be mailed to the Registrar of Voters (P.O. Box 611300, San Jose, CA 95161-1300).
  • Vote by Mail ballots must be returned by 8:00 p.m. on Election Day, or postmarked on or before Election Day and received no later than three days after Election Day. Ballot boxes with be available at City Hall. 
  • Early Voting is available to registered voters of Santa Clara County at the Registrar of Voters Office beginning 29 days prior to every election. View a list of Early Voting Centers along with the dates and times they are open.
  • Find your Polling Place to vote in person on Election Day. Polling locations will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Write-In Candidate Process

To vote for a candidate not listed on the ballot, print the name of the qualified write-in candidate in the blank space. Only qualified write-in candidates will be counted.

Running for City Council

About The City Council

  • Council Members are elected at-large and serve a 4-year term.
  • The Mayor and Vice Mayor are appointed every year in December by the City Council and serve for one year.
  • Regular City Council Meetings are held on the first and third Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m.


To run for City Council, a person must be a resident, 18 years and older, and registered to vote in the City of Saratoga. 

Nomination Period

Every election begins with a “nomination period.”  This is the period of time that begins 113 days before the day of the election and ends 88 days before the day of the election. This is the period when candidates may obtain a nomination packet, which includes the forms needed. The completed packet must be submitted to the City Clerk to run as a candidate for City Council.  

Campaign Signs

Candidates can consult the City of Saratoga City Code Section 15.30.060(e) to ensure that their signs are placed at proper locations as mentioned. You may also contact the Code Compliance Officer.